Hey Mr. Paladino(saur)

This is Carl Paladino, one of the dirtiest players I’ve ever witnessed in politics. The news is flooded right now with yet another episode of his shenanigans. This time he’s put his feet in his mouth in regards to homosexuality. Paladino made a remark about homosexuality saying “there is nothing to be proud of in being a dysfunctional homosexual” and later added, “That is not how God created us.” He also insinuates that the gay community is brainwashed when he says, “I don’t want to be brainwashed into thinking that homosexuality is an equally valid and successful option.”

Paladino opposes same sex marriage because he is a Catholic, which is understandable, but then he continues on to say that his is opposed to discrimination of any kind. That seems just a tad bit strange since he manages to squeeze in that heterosexuals will be “much better off and much more successful.” Although that in itself isn’t discrimination to definition, it does give me the feeling that if proven right in a situation he’ll be the first to say “I told you so”, therefore you support discrimination, homeboy. Maybe this is just my amateur opinion.

Paladinosaur (rawr) made these remarks at a synagogue in the Williamsburg area of Brooklyn in an attempt to set the contrast between himself and the man he seems to be so in love with that he smears his name to the death because he can’t have him, Andrew Cuomo. Cuomo is the reason I really don’t like Paladino to begin with. Well, not Cuomo himself so let me explain.

Paladino has done, in my opinion, nothing but try to call out Andrew Cuomo on any and everything. Has he at any point in his campaign said what he can do or plans to do? Every time I see or hear something about him, it seems to be him aiming at Cuomo. Maybe Cuomo should just give it up and let Paladino take him out on a date. That seems to be what he wants. Perhaps he’s only confused about his own homosexuality? Who knows.

Enough about the hardcore news, let’s be real for a little bit. He’s old school, and closed minded. I don’t feel we should be putting trust in a man who is running for a position in such a diverse place as New York City when he himself is not diversified in thinking. He has a one tracked mindset, and he’s probably just way too old to hop off of that track without his knees giving out.

I say live and let live. Although it is a cliche’d term, I feel it is only fair. What one chooses to do with their life has very little to do with the success and economy of New York and nothing at all to do with your hoping to govern! Focus on yourself and stop trying to dig deeper and deeper into Cuomo and sharing your unwanted, close-minded take on sexuality. Am I the only one who feels this guys mentality belongs to a high schooler?

About Andrew Rowley
I'm just another New Yorker and college student trying to find his place in a sleepless city and a world full of hooligans in expensive neckties and cuff links. I live to be free and I'd love to help any and everyone accomplish just the same, if I can. I write for therapy and expression. Hopefully, one day I can manage to turn my art and hobby into a successful business.

3 Responses to Hey Mr. Paladino(saur)

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Carl Palandino is saying what the majority of people are too weak to stand up and say: The American people are tired of having homosexuality SHOVED down our throats. For many, the belief that homosexuality is not an acceptable ACTION – especially in the form of flagrantly immoral behavior in gay pride parades, is not only a deeply spiritual belief, but common decency. For that matter, heterosexuals shouldn’t be grinding in parades either. Carl Palandino is a Catholic. The Catholic Church’s teaching on homosexuality is that the person who feels homosexual tendencies should remain celebate, and that God can still bring that person to joy and fulfillment as a celebate individual. It is the ACTING on homosexuality that is the sin. As Americans we are expected to be tolerant of other’s beliefs, but the liberal media refuses to be tolerant of OUR Christian beliefs.
    My only criticism of Mr. Palandino will be if he backs down regarding his deep rooted beliefs because of the pressure of the media. America is waiting and watching for a candidate with a backbone and will stand on his core beliefs NO MATTER WHAT! I am beginning to wonder if a person such as this exists.

    • Thank you for stopping by and commenting. You make excellent points. I can understand the Christian community feeling that they are being force-fed into accepting homosexuality, however I feel realistically it is something that is coming up like any other movement that has been oppressed. If it begins ascending, it will do so in a manner no different than other powerful civil rights movements. I’m sure there were whites in the 50’s and 60’s saying that they feel they are being force-fed to accept black rights. This just happens to be a more sensitive topic because it directly conflicts with what people label to be their religious beliefs, but didn’t slavery too?

      I am a Christian. I live my religion by my rules, with my God, but leave it to God to judge. I don’t take it upon myself to try be a religious enforcer. And although the Catholic Church is a formidable status symbol as not only a structure but also a religion, we need to realize that we are all human. We were born into sin. Theres no little sin, no big sin. We live, we learn, we choose as we were given the opportunity to. What happens after that is a matter of your belief system.

      What I do not agree on is forcing children to accept ANYTHING! I feel their choice should be theirs and theirs alone. I don’t agree with the images we see in the media that our children are introduced to so early, but now we are here and maybe some of the decisions in regards to sexuality are made by influence from media coverage and the feeling of acceptance being “SHOVED down our throats” as you say.

      Perhaps it isn’t a matter of shoving it down your throat, but them, the oppressed and discriminated against saying stop shoving your beliefs down OUR throats.

      Thanks for commenting :). Thanks so much for the feedback!

  2. Elizabeth says:

    There is only ONE truth. God is either real or He is not. We were either created in His image of God or we were not. God cannot be divided. He is not double-minded. What He calls an abomination, is an abomination.
    This weekend, at our highschool reunion, I shared a conversation with an openly gay classmate of mine. I made every attempt to commend him on all the good things he was accomplishing in life. I showed him unconditional love though I don’t agree with his lifestyle. However, if he was to ask me what I believed, I would have told him my beliefs without reservation or apology. With God’s grace, I CAN love all people and still call what they do a sin, because I am a sinner also. The difference is that I choose to refrain from passing my sins or bad behavior off as acceptable because “I’m different” nor do I justify it under the pretext of tolerance. It is possible to tolerate each other without agreeing. Those who don’t agree with the practice of homosexuality should not be ridiculed or belittled any more than those who believe it to be acceptable. While I would never condone treating a practicing homsexual cruelly, I cannot change theTRUTH, and those who also believe it is wrong should not be called haters or be treated cruelly either.

    When Jesus showed such great love and mercy toward the prostitute, he gave us the example that we were not to judge…. But He also went on to say, “Neither do I condemn you…GO AND SIN NO MORE.” John 8:11

    As Christians, we all fall short. The true test of our faith is trusting God enough to surrender all aspects of our lives that are displeasing to Him, not just the convenient or easy things. This is what it means to follow His Great Commandment to “Love God with your whole heart and mind and soul.” We are called to holiness and a desire to please GOD above all things and all creatures. In pleasing God, we are called to love our neighbor as ourselves…loving them does not call for condoning sin…but rather, we can choose to love our brothers and sisters enough to speak the Truth, even when it is unpopular…even to the point of death like the martyrs of Christ who went before us.
    ” If your hand causes you to sin, cut it off. It is better for you to enter life maimed than with two hands to go into hell, where the fire never goes out. And if your foot causes you to sin, cut it off. It is better for you to enter life crippled than to have two feet and be thrown into hell.And if your eye causes you to sin, pluck it out. It is better for you to enter the kingdom of God with one eye than to have two eyes and be thrown into hell, where ” ‘their worm does not die,
    and the fire is not quenched.”( Mark 9:43-48)
    I pray that all God’s children come to love Him enough to surrender ALL things unto Him, not just the things we pick and choose… May God’s WILL be done.

    May His wisdom and Truth be yours today.

Leave a Reply

